Coconut Oil: The Body’s Saving Grace

I discovered coconut oil a few years ago and it was that single discovery that changed my skin and hair care regiment for the better and no, I am not being over dramatic. Coconut oil has become my saving grace and I use it for everything. It is my go to all natural product when it comes to moisturizing my skin, hydrating my hair, and even when I feel like my metabolism needs a little boost.

I first decided to turn to coconut oil when I started suffering from terrible razor burn. My legs would break out into red, sore, and itchy bumps almost immediately after shaving. So, before and after every shave I rub coconut oil into my skin. Doing this before shaving helps soften the hairs and in turn provides a smoother stroke of the razor. Doing it after as well helps stop or alleviate any irritation that may come as a result of shaving.

Coming from a long line of sensitive skin, finding a solid moisturizer that replenishes my skin and doesn’t make me breakout has been a major struggle in my life. Coconut oil has been my cure-all for all of the above. Having battled with acne for years, going to the dermatologist as a last resort was a must. Unfortunately, the topical treatments prescribed, though they’ve helped, have done a number on my skin. I wake up with extremely dry and flakey patches everywhere. Scooping out some coconut oil with my fingers and rubbing it into my face, once cleansed and dried, has helped immensely. It moisturizes and helps my skin remain hydrated throughout the day.

Not only does coconut oil help you retain moisture but it is great for those who are battling acne. I know, I know, using oil on your skin to help combat acne? I was skeptical too but after a little bit of research, I learned that coconut oil has anti-inflammatory properties. So, it not only assists in combating pimples that are getting ready to surface but it also helps bring the swelling and redness down as a result of pre-existing acne as well. Coconut oil also helps in healing any open wounds and therefore is great for severe cases of acne as well.

Coconut oil is also great for your hair. If you partake in the daily struggle that is dry hair, then coconut oil could be what you need. This oil contains a ton of natural vitamins that will assist in revitalizing your lavish locks. Before you go to bed and after you shower, take a small amount into your hand. Remember, this is oil so a little goes a long way. Too much may result in your hair looking greasy in the morning. Continue by rubbing it into your head, focusing on your scalp and ends.

You can also use this as a hair treatment as well. Taking a bit more, really work it into all parts of your locks. Tie it up and put a shower cap over your hair. Leave it in for about two hours and rinse your hair well. Once your hair dries you will see how much softer and lively your hair looks and feels.

Coconut oil also contains a ton of natural fats, Medium Chain Triglycerides to be exact. So, working this into your diet is a must if you’re looking to combat body fat and also boost your metabolism. There are tons of ways you can do this too. You can simply use it to cook. Instead of using cooking spray, butter, or margarine to grease your pan, use some coconut oil instead. You can also add some into your coffee and tea as well. It makes for a great all natural sweetener. You could also just consume it by itself as well. A few teaspoons a day will definitely do the trick!

Coconut oil is a must all natural product to have around. You can ultimately use it for everything and anything. It’s great for dry or irritated skin. A few coats and your skin will feel softer than ever! It will also help you get the volumized hair of your dreams and it will assist you in your latest weight loss adventure. But remember; be sure to get unprocessed and all natural oil. Anything else will just negatively impact whatever you are trying to accomplish in terms of weight loss, skin care, or hair care.

So what do you think Damsels? Is coconut oil going to become your go to?

 

Leave a Reply

